Author Topic: Cord Cutting  (Read 5334 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dracnal

  • Posts: 1618
Re: Cord Cutting
« Reply #475: April 08, 2021, 01:11:30 PM »
Best Buy has them, sort of. But I'll probably order this from Amazon as delivery is much faster. Only has to be accessed by two TVs.
https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-AC1750-Smart-WiFi-Router/dp/B079JD7F7G?ref_=ast_sto_dp

Yeah that looks like a solid choice. Should do what you need just fine and there's a decent chance it'll be faster, more stable, wifi compared to the FiOS router's broadcast.

Offline imref

  • Posts: 33654
  • Redemption
Re: Cord Cutting
« Reply #476: April 08, 2021, 01:14:01 PM »
Yeah that looks like a solid choice. Should do what you need just fine and there's a decent chance it'll be faster, more stable, wifi compared to the FiOS router's broadcast.

That depends. The FiOS G3100 is a fantastic router. the G1100 is garbage.

Online The Chief

  • Posts: 31631
    • http://www.wnff.net
Re: Cord Cutting
« Reply #477: April 08, 2021, 01:20:02 PM »
Cat-6 or bust :P

(joking for the purposes of this discussion ;))

Offline 1995hoo

  • Posts: 1006
Re: Cord Cutting
« Reply #478: April 08, 2021, 01:35:21 PM »
That depends. The FiOS G3100 is a fantastic router. the G1100 is garbage.

I agree 100% about the G1100 being garbage. We have one, but it's in bridge mode and a Linksys router does all the work. The G1100 constantly dropped the wifi. The reason we still have it is that our FIOS setup is the older coax setup and I don't want to go to the trouble, disruption, and expense of having someone come out here to run Ethernet cables through the walls when putting that router in bridge mode solves the problem. The Linksys one has been extremely reliable. (Don't recall the model number; I could look it up if anyone's interested, but since we've had it since late 2019, I doubt the same one is on the market anymore anyway.)

Offline imref

  • Posts: 33654
  • Redemption
Re: Cord Cutting
« Reply #479: April 08, 2021, 01:46:05 PM »
I’m in the same boat. When I got a 3100 I tried to use the g1100 as a coax extender and still had issues with it dropping Wi-Fi connections. I ended up spending the $200 on the newer extended that is compatible with the 3100 and haven’t had any issues.

I did have to run Ethernet from the ONT outside of the house to the 3100. The 3100 sits on the other side of the wall from the ont so it was a short run.

Offline dracnal

  • Posts: 1618
Re: Cord Cutting
« Reply #480: April 08, 2021, 02:41:07 PM »
That depends. The FiOS G3100 is a fantastic router. the G1100 is garbage.

Yeah, they've started upping their game in the last couple of years, but a lot of folks (like my Dad) have FiOS from a looooooong time ago and a router that's got shaky support for N band, and not a single clue what AC is.

BTW- never used an Asus router so I can't really comment on them in that regard, but they had many years of solid, overclock friendly, motherboards.

Online HalfSmokes

  • Posts: 20808
Re: Cord Cutting
« Reply #481: April 08, 2021, 02:51:00 PM »
I had the G11000 for years and it was always terrible- even when it was competitive based on specs. I'm at the point where frequency of patches is my main way to judge a router manufacture

Online The Chief

  • Posts: 31631
    • http://www.wnff.net
Re: Cord Cutting
« Reply #482: April 08, 2021, 03:02:39 PM »
Ditching Verizon's router and plugging one of my own choosing directly into the ONT was one of the best parts of cutting the cord.

Offline 1995hoo

  • Posts: 1006
Re: Cord Cutting
« Reply #483: April 08, 2021, 03:49:58 PM »
I’m in the same boat. When I got a 3100 I tried to use the g1100 as a coax extender and still had issues with it dropping Wi-Fi connections. I ended up spending the $200 on the newer extended that is compatible with the 3100 and haven’t had any issues.

I did have to run Ethernet from the ONT outside of the house to the 3100. The 3100 sits on the other side of the wall from the ont so it was a short run.

My issue with doing that is that I have the router upstairs (three storeys up) in my home office and I want to keep it here because I use a wired connection for my work PC.

Offline imref

  • Posts: 33654
  • Redemption
Re: Cord Cutting
« Reply #484: April 08, 2021, 03:58:37 PM »
My issue with doing that is that I have the router upstairs (three storeys up) in my home office and I want to keep it here because I use a wired connection for my work PC.

Do you not have Ethernet then from the ONT to the G3100? I had to run Ethernet to get Gigabit service, I believe Ethernet is required for anything above 200MB.

Offline 1995hoo

  • Posts: 1006
Re: Cord Cutting
« Reply #485: April 08, 2021, 04:27:43 PM »
Do you not have Ethernet then from the ONT to the G3100? I had to run Ethernet to get Gigabit service, I believe Ethernet is required for anything above 200MB.

We don't have a G3100. We have a G1100 that I put in bridge mode because it was so unreliable.

Offline imref

  • Posts: 33654
  • Redemption
Re: Cord Cutting
« Reply #486: April 08, 2021, 04:52:39 PM »
We don't have a G3100. We have a G1100 that I put in bridge mode because it was so unreliable.

ah ok. I wasn't clear on that.