Author Topic: Nationals @ Phillies, Game 2  (Read 33281 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ronnynat

  • Posts: 23263
Re: Nationals @ Phillies, Game 2
« Reply #50: September 29, 2007, 04:19:06 PM »
No sir.  He touched the bag with the ball securely in glove.  It wasn't until a second or two after the play when the ball dropped out.  It happens more frequently at 2nd when someone is trying to turn a DP but drop the ball almost instantly after catching it.  The runner is always called out.

I don't know what you saw, sportsfan, but the bag clearly knocked the ball out, which would definitely make the runner safe at first. Those calls at second happen when the second baseman is starting his transfer from glove to hand (even in the beginning of the transfer) and the ball falls out. In that case, baseball rule-wise, the runner is out.