Author Topic: Text box issue with Internet Explorer  (Read 644 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tomterp

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 27265
  • Hell yes!
Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Topic Start: February 13, 2010, 11:52:25 AM »
I've been having a problem when I use my Toshiba laptop.  When I am typing a post in the designated rectangular box, once I fill the box and begin heading down further, I can no longer see what I'm typing.  As I type each letter, the text line I'm on jumps up briefly into view, just a flash before dropping back down below the edge of the box, out of sight.  I often have to copy my entire message over to Word, finish the post, then paste it back in to the box.

I don't have this problem on my work laptop, nor my desktop, so figure it's something with this specific laptop that is causing the problem.  Any thoughts or suggestions on how to fix?

Offline The Chief

  • Posts: 29998
    • http://www.wnff.net
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #1: February 13, 2010, 09:53:20 PM »
What browser are you using on the Toshiba?

Offline tomterp

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 27265
  • Hell yes!
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #2: February 13, 2010, 10:59:35 PM »
What browser are you using on the Toshiba?

IE 8.

Offline The Chief

  • Posts: 29998
    • http://www.wnff.net
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #3: February 13, 2010, 11:00:58 PM »
IE 8.

Is this in the quick edit box, the full post/modify box, or the quick response box?

Offline tomterp

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 27265
  • Hell yes!
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #4: February 13, 2010, 11:02:24 PM »
Is this in the quick edit box, the full post/modify box, or the quick response box?

The main "reply" box, guess that's the "full post/modify box.  I can see all the smileys at the top laughing at me, though some are sad.    :'(

Offline tomterp

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 27265
  • Hell yes!
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #5: May 28, 2010, 08:50:26 AM »
I've been having a problem when I use my Toshiba laptop.  When I am typing a post in the designated rectangular box, once I fill the box and begin heading down further, I can no longer see what I'm typing.  As I type each letter, the text line I'm on jumps up briefly into view, just a flash before dropping back down below the edge of the box, out of sight.  I often have to copy my entire message over to Word, finish the post, then paste it back in to the box.

I don't have this problem on my work laptop, nor my desktop, so figure it's something with this specific laptop that is causing the problem.  Any thoughts or suggestions on how to fix?

Evo is having the same problem I am continuing to have:

When I get to the point where the post doesn't fit into the block it bounces me back to the top, and I can't see what i am typing.

Offline The Chief

  • Posts: 29998
    • http://www.wnff.net
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #6: May 28, 2010, 09:17:48 AM »
I tried this and I do see what you guys are talking about.  According to the guy with the yellow bear, it's an IE8 bug:

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=331832.0

Using IE8's compatibility mode will supposedly work around the issue.  I'll see what I can find in terms of fixing it from the forum side.


Offline tomterp

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 27265
  • Hell yes!
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #7: May 28, 2010, 09:34:40 AM »
Yup, I read a few of the comments, and that's my problem.  It's hard as hell to post once you go over a paragraph or two.

Offline blue911

  • Posts: 16107
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #8: May 28, 2010, 09:36:56 AM »
Yup, I read a few of the comments, and that's my problem.  It's hard as hell to post once you go over a paragraph or two.

Good keep it short. Anything over two sentences and my mind wonders anyhow.

Offline The Chief

  • Posts: 29998
    • http://www.wnff.net
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #9: May 28, 2010, 12:18:02 PM »
Yup, I read a few of the comments, and that's my problem.  It's hard as hell to post once you go over a paragraph or two.

You could use another browser in the interim, like Firefox or Chrome.

Offline PANatsFan

  • Posts: 37010
  • dogs in uncensored, nudes in gameday
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #10: May 28, 2010, 09:33:44 PM »
Using Lunascape and the Trident engine, I am unable to re-create the problem. Must be peculiar to IE8 as Chief said.

Offline tomterp

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 27265
  • Hell yes!
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #11: May 15, 2011, 09:57:42 PM »
I tried this and I do see what you guys are talking about.  According to the guy with the yellow bear, it's an IE8 bug:

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=331832.0

Using IE8's compatibility mode will supposedly work around the issue.  I'll see what I can find in terms of fixing it from the forum side.




I'm using a new Gateway laptop and it's giving me the same friggin problem - when the little box is full the screen jumps up and down with every character typed, very difficult to work with.

Online PC

  • Posts: 38920
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #12: May 15, 2011, 10:04:24 PM »
Speaking as the IE expert here...I've had problems like that, while entering text, and compatibility mode for both IE8 and IE9 seem to help.

Offline The Chief

  • Posts: 29998
    • http://www.wnff.net
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #13: May 15, 2011, 11:57:21 PM »
It still does it with IE9?  Blah.

Offline Vega

  • Posts: 3770
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #14: May 16, 2011, 03:49:10 AM »
There are people who actually use Internet Exploder as their browser? I thought IE's only purpose was as a tool to download a real browser.

Offline tomterp

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 27265
  • Hell yes!
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #15: May 16, 2011, 08:12:27 AM »
It still does it with IE9?  Blah.

After posting I changed it to "compatibility mode" or whatever the hell that is  :? and it seemed to rectify the problem.  I have no idea what other issues I have created by doing so, however.

 :(

Offline Nathan

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 10559
  • Wow. Such warnings. Very baseball. Moderator Doge.
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #16: May 16, 2011, 03:34:26 PM »
Firefox?  Chrome?  Hell, even Opera?

Offline PANatsFan

  • Posts: 37010
  • dogs in uncensored, nudes in gameday
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #17: May 16, 2011, 05:21:23 PM »
Firefox?  Chrome?  Hell, even Opera?

Lynx > IE

Online PC

  • Posts: 38920
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #18: May 16, 2011, 05:54:37 PM »
Firefox?  Chrome?  Hell, even Opera?

Bleh, bleh and hell, even more bleh.

Offline Lintyfresh85

  • Posts: 33565
  • Lets go to work
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #19: May 19, 2011, 02:52:55 AM »
I'm using a new Gateway laptop

Gateway still makes computers?

Offline Nathan

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 10559
  • Wow. Such warnings. Very baseball. Moderator Doge.
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #20: May 19, 2011, 03:19:11 AM »
:lol:  I remembered thinking that a few years back when a buddy bought one.  They're owned by Acer now.

Offline PANatsFan

  • Posts: 37010
  • dogs in uncensored, nudes in gameday
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #21: May 19, 2011, 08:13:46 AM »
:lol:  I remembered thinking that a few years back when a buddy bought one.  They're owned by Acer now.

Last time we bought one, it was owned by eMachines. Also, remember Gateway 2000? :lol: My parents still have a 3 foot tall, 40 lb monster at their house that says Gateway 2000. I remember being so excited about the modem getting speeds over 2400 baud.

Offline tomterp

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 27265
  • Hell yes!
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #22: May 19, 2011, 08:17:38 AM »
Gateway still makes computers?

It was about half the price ($350 or so) of comparable models in other brands.  I don't do a lot with it other than post on WNFF during Nats games, though we needed it to run Microsoft Office as well.  No video games, no really intensive processing needs.

Offline tomterp

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 27265
  • Hell yes!
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #23: May 19, 2011, 08:18:55 AM »
Last time we bought one, it was owned by eMachines. Also, remember Gateway 2000? :lol: My parents still have a 3 foot tall, 40 lb monster at their house that says Gateway 2000. I remember being so excited about the modem getting speeds over 2400 baud.

We still have one of those in our basement.  It got so clogged with spyware/spamware/overhead programs that it would barely boot up anymore.  I'm going to convert it to a boat anchor.

Offline PANatsFan

  • Posts: 37010
  • dogs in uncensored, nudes in gameday
Re: Text box issue with Internet Explorer
« Reply #24: May 19, 2011, 09:33:36 AM »
We still have one of those in our basement.  It got so clogged with spyware/spamware/overhead programs that it would barely boot up anymore.  I'm going to convert it to a boat anchor.


How long does it take to download a virus at 2400 baud?