Author Topic: Hardware/OS Geek Thread  (Read 24017 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Nathan

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 10679
  • Wow. Such warnings. Very baseball. Moderator Doge.
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1100: December 17, 2011, 05:17:36 PM »
You're going to attempt to replace a display in a laptop?  Is it under warranty?

Offline hammondsnats

  • Posts: 37348
  • LAC 8)
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1101: December 17, 2011, 05:20:43 PM »
You're going to attempt to replace a display in a laptop?  Is it under warranty?


i don't know i'm a complete idiot when it comes to this stuff.  i got it from a mom's friend and it's really nice (equipped with EVERYTHING i could ever want/need). 

the friend i asked works on this stuff for a living he said i'll be able to get one for like $100-250.  he said it's rather easy to do. 

think:


Offline Nathan

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 10679
  • Wow. Such warnings. Very baseball. Moderator Doge.
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1102: December 17, 2011, 05:22:06 PM »
Um, I don't think replacing a display in a laptop is something "easy" especially for someone such as yourself.  Hell, I wouldn't even attempt it tbh.

Offline hammondsnats

  • Posts: 37348
  • LAC 8)
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1103: December 17, 2011, 05:24:07 PM »
Um, I don't think replacing a display in a laptop is something "easy" especially for someone such as yourself.  Hell, I wouldn't even attempt it tbh.

haha i'd have him do it.  or just take it to a shop. 


Offline Nathan

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 10679
  • Wow. Such warnings. Very baseball. Moderator Doge.
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1104: December 17, 2011, 05:27:05 PM »
What's the make and model?

Online blue911

  • Posts: 16583
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1105: December 17, 2011, 05:28:58 PM »
Um, I don't think replacing a display in a laptop is something "easy" especially for someone such as yourself.  Hell, I wouldn't even attempt it tbh.

I'd try it on Hammonds laptop.

Offline GburgNatsFan

  • Posts: 12681
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1106: December 18, 2011, 04:34:16 PM »
I think the bezel just snaps off, you remove a couple of tiny screws, unclip the cable, gently pry out the old screen, then reverse.

I haven't done it, but I've seen it done and it did not look difficult. Of course, the person doing it was experienced.

i don't know i'm a complete idiot when it comes to this stuff.  i got it from a mom's friend and it's really nice (equipped with EVERYTHING i could ever want/need). 

the friend i asked works on this stuff for a living he said i'll be able to get one for like $100-250.  he said it's rather easy to do. 

think:

(Image removed from quote.)



Offline JMW IV

  • Posts: 11291
  • Name on the Front > Name on The Back
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1107: December 22, 2011, 10:26:24 PM »
So i have been back and forth between Ubuntu 11.10 and Linux Mint 12.

both are sluggish on my laptop here, I am thinking maybe that Gnome3/ Unity is the culprit.

Going to re-install Ubuntu 11.10, and then try to sidegrade to Xubuntu and see if the XFCE desktop is a little better for my system.

It is an Intel Core-2 T55 1.66ghz with 1GB of RAM and Integrated Graphics (Intel GMA 950).

I know i need to up the RAM and i will when I can.

but for now, I'm figuring that it can't handle desktops like Gnome 3 and Unity.

Offline Terpfan76

  • Posts: 3862
  • ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1108: January 06, 2012, 11:29:53 AM »
I have a linksys wireless G router and my mother has a wireless N router. What is the difference between the two in as far as how well they work or how good the signal is etc... Is there any reason at all I'd want to go to a wireless N router? Layman terms here folks, I'm not a super geek :lol:


fwiw, I use my router for my PS3, PSP and our bluray player, which is a pain in the ass Sony with the little wifi dongle or some crap like that.

















/

Offline HalfSmokes

  • Posts: 15113
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1109: January 06, 2012, 11:46:11 AM »
I have a linksys wireless G router and my mother has a wireless N router. What is the difference between the two in as far as how well they work or how good the signal is etc... Is there any reason at all I'd want to go to a wireless N router? Layman terms here folks, I'm not a super geek :lol:


fwiw, I use my router for my PS3, PSP and our bluray player, which is a pain in the ass Sony with the little wifi dongle or some crap like that.

















/



how fast is your internet connection? N routers are faster, but your internet speed is a limiting factor unless you're transferring files between devices on your network (i.e. computer to network storage) which it doesn't sound like you'd do.

Offline Terpfan76

  • Posts: 3862
  • ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1110: January 06, 2012, 05:35:54 PM »



Wow... that sucks, but that's what I get for livin' here :lol:

Offline Nathan

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 10679
  • Wow. Such warnings. Very baseball. Moderator Doge.
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1111: January 06, 2012, 09:40:01 PM »
Yeah, you don't need an N router for that :lol:

I just bought a N router as an upgrade to the ancient WRT54G I've had forever.  I used to get around 14Mbps but now with the N router, I get anywhere from 10 to sometimes 25+.

Anyone else had any experience with netgear routers?  I'm not sure if it's the router or just comcast being flaky.  For instance on my iPhone, I used to always get 12-13Mbps on the old router, now it's 8 and very "spiky".  I was wavering between the netgear and a belkin and went with the netgear even though it was $10 more since I figured it'd be $10 better :lol:

Offline Terpfan76

  • Posts: 3862
  • ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1112: January 07, 2012, 09:22:16 AM »
Yeah, you don't need an N router for that :lol:

I just bought a N router as an upgrade to the ancient WRT54G I've had forever.  I used to get around 14Mbps but now with the N router, I get anywhere from 10 to sometimes 25+.

Anyone else had any experience with netgear routers?  I'm not sure if it's the router or just comcast being flaky.  For instance on my iPhone, I used to always get 12-13Mbps on the old router, now it's 8 and very "spiky".  I was wavering between the netgear and a belkin and went with the netgear even though it was $10 more since I figured it'd be $10 better :lol:

That's the same router I have. It works well enough for my PS3, but I freakin' hate my stand alone bluray player at least when it comes to streaming Netflix.

Offline JMW IV

  • Posts: 11291
  • Name on the Front > Name on The Back
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1113: January 07, 2012, 11:53:10 AM »
Knocking on wood and crossing my fingers, but after a few weeks of playing Distro roulette, I think I may have settled on Linux Mint Debian Edition as my permanent OS.

Offline Nathan

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 10679
  • Wow. Such warnings. Very baseball. Moderator Doge.
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1114: January 08, 2012, 01:31:28 AM »
(Image removed from quote.)


Wow... that sucks, but that's what I get for livin' here :lol:


Here's mine, its so variable though.  Anywhere from 10 to 25 mbps.


Offline PC

  • Posts: 41016
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1115: February 26, 2012, 09:47:21 PM »
I upgraded my primary computer this weekend and am completely psyched.

My old specs:

AMD Phenom X4 9650 CPU
8GB DDR2 800
a video card (I'm not sure what it was, as I'm not a gamer...see all my posts in the Skyrim thread.  :)  )
750GB Caviar Black primary hard drive

My new specs:

AMD A8-3870 Llano APU (unlocked)...yes, I'm one of the last living AMD fanboys   :mg:
16GB DDR3 1333 (SIXTEEN, not a typo!)
no video card, I'm going with the GPU on the chip.
80GB Intel 320 Series SSD (primary hard drive, the 750GB Caviar Black is now my secondary drive)

I kept the DVD Burner and Blu-Ray Burner, one of each and the tv tuner card and I replaced a 1TB USB 2.0 external drive with a 3TB USB 3.0 external.

 :az:

Offline The Chief

  • Posts: 30122
    • http://www.wnff.net
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1116: February 27, 2012, 10:00:17 AM »
Will you actually use the extra 8 gigs for anything?  I've considered upgrading my desktop from 8 to 16 (it's only ~35 bucks after all :lol: ) but I am fairly certain the rest of my components will be out of date before I'd ever actually need that much memory.

Offline Nathan

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 10679
  • Wow. Such warnings. Very baseball. Moderator Doge.
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1117: February 27, 2012, 03:25:48 PM »
I'm still rocking 4 :'(

Offline HalfSmokes

  • Posts: 15113
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1118: February 27, 2012, 03:32:30 PM »
Looks like AT&T is trying to kill net neutrality for cell phones

Quote
BARCELONA—AT&T Inc. is preparing a service that would let content providers and developers of mobile applications pay the wireless carrier for the mobile data its customers use, the carrier's network and technology head John Donovan said in an interview Monday.

http://online.wsj.com/article_email/SB10001424052970204653604577249080966030276-lMyQjAxMTAyMDIwNzEyNDcyWj.html

Offline PC

  • Posts: 41016
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1119: February 27, 2012, 04:34:41 PM »

Offline Nathan

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 10679
  • Wow. Such warnings. Very baseball. Moderator Doge.
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1120: February 27, 2012, 07:35:12 PM »
NEANDERTHAL!

Meh, it still works OK.

Offline The Chief

  • Posts: 30122
    • http://www.wnff.net
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1121: February 27, 2012, 07:35:58 PM »
Notice how he didn't answer what he's going to do with the extra 8 gigs :lol:

Offline Nathan

  • Global Moderator
  • ****
  • Posts: 10679
  • Wow. Such warnings. Very baseball. Moderator Doge.
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1122: February 27, 2012, 07:38:04 PM »
I'd upgrade to 8, but then what the hell would I do with the 4 I have now :shrug:

Offline PC

  • Posts: 41016
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1123: February 27, 2012, 08:10:32 PM »
Notice how he didn't answer what he's going to do with the extra 8 gigs :lol:

Have a really big RAM drive.  :D

Offline Coladar

  • Posts: 2820
Re: Hardware/OS Geek Thread
« Reply #1124: February 29, 2012, 12:59:49 AM »
Will you actually use the extra 8 gigs for anything?  I've considered upgrading my desktop from 8 to 16 (it's only ~35 bucks after all :lol: ) but I am fairly certain the rest of my components will be out of date before I'd ever actually need that much memory.

I've got 64 gig in my computer... Had a program that had a memory leak a while back, and before I figured out it was crappy code, thought it was my PC just needing more memory. But you'd be surprised how often I look and see its using more than half of the 64 gig, obviously not using that program I was talking about but still far more than most people run. And my PC has an uptime of 37 days right now, so obviously never rebooting is another reason I use memory like a two dollar hooker. Still... You can never go wrong with upgrading your memory. More memory is always a good thing,

Nowadays, with the OS using so damn much memory, I'd think you'd notice issues with only 8gig. I'd definitely think its worth your money to upgrade to 16. Of course, when Windows 8 comes out, what with it being made to run on tablets and all that crap, we'll probably for the first time in history see an OS that actually downgrades memory requirements and doesn't hog memory with visual crap, like widgets on the desktop or animated desktops and crap that seems to just blatantly eat memory on current PCs. So maybe you just hold out for Windows 8 and if memory is an issue now, and 8gb isn't enough memory, with Windows 8 it'll be sufficient.